Book Review – Dangerous Book for Boys

Dear Winona World,

Today’s blog post is going to focus on the book “The Dangerous Book for Boys.” For those who have not read it or heard of it, I recommend that you stop reading this post, click on this link, http://www.amazon.com/Dangerous-Book-Boys-Conn-Iggulden/dp/0061243582, buy the book and read it cover to cover. Chances are high that you will learn a great deal in a fun and creative way.

“The Dangerous Book for Boys,” by Conn and Hal Iggulden, was first published in the U.K. in 2006 and was a huge hit. Its popularity spread to the U.S. within a year and became the second most popular book on Amazon. The book’s popurality comes from its appeal to boys of all ages (from “8 to 80” as the book says) with legendary stories, facts about the world, survival skills, and games to be played.

I was immediately drawn to this book because of its old fashion style and intriguing content. Within minutes of flipping through the pages I had re-learned about celestial navigation and how to find North with only a stick, or a watch; I read through all of the famous Shakespeare quotes that “every boy should know;” I discovered ways to build carts, and treehouses. Most importantly, “The Dangerous Book for Boys” confirmed the fact that I did not need a TV to be entertained, or an internet connection to create imaginary worlds.

I have brought “Dangerous Book” to Winona every summer since it was given to me. Whenever there is a rainy day, or even a lull in the day, it is the perfect resource to find a fun activity. Two summers ago I read all the stories from the book to my tent just before lights out; the true tales left my tent filled with images of discovery, triumph and courage. All of these are traits that I wanted to instill in junior campers as they lived their summer days on the shores and would hopefully bring them back to school with them.

If there was a “bat scale,” “The Dangerous Book for Boys” would receive 5 out of 5 bats from me. No matter what your age, you will find something in this book that will spark your curiosity and leave you eager to get outside once again, much like a daydream of Winona will do.

And, in case you can’t think of a good holiday gift idea for a boy you know, “Dangerous Book” might do the trick.

Brix Brax,

The Red and The Gray

 

Leave a comment